There's several levels of procrastination.
1) Meh, I'll do it tomorrow.
2) Meh, I'll do it the day before it's due.
3) Meh, I'll end up staying up all night and stumbling to class in a daze because I put it off to the very last second.
Granted, I've been guilty of the first, and sometimes even second levels, but I don't get the third level at all... especially when it comes to my thesis. The first due date was January 12th... when i found that out in August, I cried because I felt overwhelmed and it was too close (I thought I would have until March). The second due date is in a month. I'll be out of town the week before the official due date, so I turn it in then. In the meantime, I've let my first draft sit, fiddling here and there, waiting to get my comments back.
The thing is, that MBC said it will not anyone go to the third year if they do not turn in their thesis by this time. I'm sorry, there are going to be some crappy theses. Will their advisers even get a chance to look at the first drafts? Will they get any input at all? Most of their theses do not have a first draft done... A MONTH after the first due date. Just... huh? I don't get it. I put in 125 hours on my first draft. Even if its half done, they will need to work 2 hours a day at least to get it done in time, and that's without any editing (I did the math).
I'm glad I listened to the older students who warned me about this. I took it to heart, and, true to form, panicked waaaay before something was due. I've just trained myself to panic early and panic well.
It's served me pretty well.
No comments:
Post a Comment